a little garden bounty

My wife may be a “master gardener” but we have a lot of room for improvement and learning in the gardening department. It’s our second year gardening in this yard, and our first year in our community garden plot, and we’ve learned a lot. While I may not be as obsessively photographing everything we eat, our big win is in eating nearly everything we’ve grown. Sometimes that seems like half the battle. Here’s a small taste of what we’ve been harvesting from the yard lately:

Everytime I look at fresh peas from our garden I hear Gordon Ramsay saying (in his nicer Master Chef voice), “THE MOST AMAZING FRESH PEAS!”

I’m pretty sure Ramsay would agree with me that those Chioggia beets are stunning.

10 Comments

Filed under garden

10 responses to “a little garden bounty

  1. Those beets ARE stunning! I know you weren’t looking for recipes to use up your bounty, but all my friends who garden end up with too much zucchini. My favorite zucchini recipe is from Smitten Kitchen and it’s worth every minute it takes. I dream about this galette.
    http://smittenkitchen.com/2010/06/zucchini-and-ricotta-galette/

    • misterkrista

      That recipe looks awesome! And we certainly have too much zucchini from our two plants that have been going to town.

  2. i always eat the shells on the peas! i assume maybe these are the ones that are supposed to be eaten.. “loose”? you have SO MANY

    • misterkrista

      We eat most of our pea shells, but these are a little tough so the chickens get them. They are Maestro shelling peas.

  3. Geraldine

    I really want to grow Chioggia beets. Yours are beautiful! (The rest looks amazing, too!)

  4. Do you eat the beet greens, too? I can’t get enough. YUM. And I ditto Heather on Smitten Kitchen. Everything they post looks amazing.

    • misterkrista

      I have some in the fridge that still look good but haven’t eaten them yet. I haven’t convinced the rest of the house that they will taste good.

Leave a comment