Jar Lunch: Soba Noodles with Asparagus & Miso Butter

The Jar Lunch: It’s like a bag lunch or a bento lunch, but the next big thing is lunch packed in a good ol’ mason jar. I have to microwave my lunch at work, so metal containers won’t work and heating up plastic has me worried. We often simply fill mason jars with leftovers, but sometimes it is fun to come up with a clever jar lunch and make a big batch. Lunch for the whole family is already packed.

Have you heard about miso butter yet? It’s all over the internet. As soon as I saw it, I knew I had to try it. Simply mix equal parts butter (softened) and miso. White miso makes for an amazing, subtle flavor. We now keep a mason jar of this heavenly stuff in the fridge.

This jar lunch was inspired by the Momofuku recipe for pan-roasted asparagus with miso butter and a poached egg on top. I am practically obsessed with poached eggs, but for lunchtime food safety I settled for hard-boiled*. This lunch is so simple, no recipe is needed. Just chop some steamed asparagus, toss freshly cooked soba noodles with miso butter to taste, and let them cool completely. Layer into a wide mouth pint jar along with a peeled, hard boiled egg sliced in half.

I promise, you won’t regret it.

Please add your photos to the Jar Lunch Flickr pool for this or any other jar lunches you make!

See our other Jar Lunches here.

*I don’t ever boil my “hard-boiled” eggs anymore. Boiling fresh eggs always leads to difficult peeling. Awhile back I discovered you can steam them for 10-12 minutes and avoid the difficult peeling problem. Now I’ve tested Alton Brown’s Hard Cooked Eggs that are baked in the oven. Although I need to reduce the baking time next time around, I am excited to report that they peeled perfectly and tasted great!

8 Comments

Filed under food

8 responses to “Jar Lunch: Soba Noodles with Asparagus & Miso Butter

  1. Somer

    I never could peel boiled eggs properly! Great idea. Your poached eggs always look amazing! Like perfect pillows or something. I can understand your obsession! I’ll bet the miso butter would work equally well with earth balance instead of the real deal and I could sub some grilled tofu for the egg. Keep em coming!

  2. wow, simple and healthy.

    INSPIRED!!!

  3. Mmmm.. miso butter??! I must try this!

  4. i love this jar lunch idea! always so simple and delicious. looking forward to more :)

  5. Sara

    Misooooo butter! Made this this weekend and LOVED it. Will try white miso instead next time (mine was a little overpowering, but nothing a little MORE BUTTER couldn’t fix). The poached egg makes a perfect little sauce along with the miso butter. Didn’t have asparagus (which is odd) at the corner market, so used a mix of enoki mushrooms and snap peas and it was greatttt. Thank you, ladies.

  6. Looking forward to trying the baking eggs for easier peeling! I get so frustrated with fresh eggs and my family loves deviled eggs!

Leave a Reply

