Jar Lunch: dessert edition

The Jar Lunch: It’s like a bag lunch or a bento lunch, but the next big thing is lunch packed in a good ol’ mason jar. I have to microwave my lunch at work, so metal containers won’t work and heating up plastic has me worried. We often simply fill mason jars with leftovers, but sometimes it is fun to come up with a clever jar lunch and make a big batch. Lunch for the whole family is already packed.

Everyone loves the occasional special sweet in their lunch. I remember the excitement of a Hostess cake in my brown bag. Tomorrow I will post the usual Friday Jar Lunch, but today you get dessert: Pineapple Upside-Down Cakes.

These are best warmed up in the microwave for about 45 seconds before eating so the brown sugar stays gooey and melty. If you don’t have access to a microwave, they are still quite delicious when cool, just a little crunchier.

All you have to do is divide your favorite pineapple upside-down cake recipe into wide mouth half-pint mason jars. I used this recipe and made 7 jar cakes. Pineapple rings are ever-so-slightly too big for the jars, so simply cut a slit in the ring and overlap the ends a bit. I also added maraschino cherries to some and home canned drunken cherries to others.

And if you have a plate available, you can always put your upside-down cake right side-up.

Enjoy!

Please add your photos to the Jar Lunch Flickr pool for this or any other jar lunches you make!

See our other Jar Lunches here.

10 Comments

Filed under food

10 responses to “Jar Lunch: dessert edition

  1. Did you bake the cakes in the jars? Some of us need a link to know how to do that (although I think you might have explained it before). These look delicious.

    • Yep, bake the cake into the jars. It’s like dividing a cake recipe into cupcakes. You just check it more frequently since the cakes are smaller, they could cook faster. The jars are ovensafe. We usually keep them on a rimmed baking sheet when they go in the oven so they are easier to wrangle.

      They are really delicious! I wish I had one for breakfast today.

  2. Still looking for a mason jar source. So far I can only find 1L jars and they don’t have that separable lid. Oh yeah, and they are about 15 bucks each!

    • That is frustrating. They sell them at some grocery stores and most hardware stores here. Weird question, but are there amish or mennonite communities around there? I know there are a lot in central america, but I don’t know how far south they went. Where do they get their supplies? You could probably find mason jars there.

  3. Somer

    Seriously. Jar Lunch Cookbook has to happen!

  4. Oh man, I thought jar lunches were cool, but there’s dessert too?? It is so satisfying to me that these are in mason jars. I just happen to have a very favorite pineapple upside down cake recipe; thanks for giving me an excuse to dig it out!

  5. Love this idea. Looks so good!

  6. You guys rock the jars. I’m definitely making this for my friend who loves PUDC. And I’m going to head to our local hardware store tomorrow to see if they have jars. LOVE IT.

  7. I love this because you can eat it in the jar and wait for the surprise at the end or separate it from the jar and dig in. Thanks for sharing!

  8. Lisa

    How long does it keep in the jar?

Leave a Reply

