chipotle mashed cauliflower

Years ago in Vegas I ate the most decadent chipotle mashed potatoes at a buffet. I could seriously eat those every single day, and I immediately came home and replicated the recipe. Since we are always looking for new ways to add veggies to our dinner plates, it occurred to me that chipotle mashed cauliflower might be pretty damn good, too.

It is.

chipotle mashed cauliflower
Makes 4 cups

one large head cauliflower (about 2-1/2 pounds)
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon pureed chipotles in adobo*
1 cup shredded white cheddar
1/4 cup milk

Remove the leaves and chop the cauliflower into small florets. Steam in a steamer basket until very soft, about 10 minutes. In a medium sized pot, place the steamed cauliflower, butter, salt, chipotle, cheddar, and one tablespoon of the milk. Puree with an immersion blender, adding the rest of the milk one tablespoon at a time until you achieve the perfect mash texture.

If desired, you can put the mash in an oven-safe dish and place under the broiler with a little additional cheese and/or butter. Sprinkle with some additional cheese, leaving a small well in the center. Broil until golden, remove from oven and place a pat of butter in the well to melt.

*I always keep this in the refrigerator in a jar. Simply buy canned chipotles in adobo and dump them in the blender, stems and all. I usually puree two cans at once.

12 Comments

Filed under food

12 responses to “chipotle mashed cauliflower

  1. egads, this sounds divine.

  2. What’s not good with a cup of white cheddar in it? We’ve been inundated with cauliflower recently — I may try this when the next one arrives. Thanks.

    • Some of us (me) are cauliflower haters, so a cup of cheddar is the best way to compromise on the issue of that gross vegetable. I did happily eat this dish, though!

      • Good to know, Jess. Cauliflower is not my favorite either, but I don’t run screaming from it like I do from asparagus or English peas.

        • Cauliflower is probably my second-to-most hated vegetable, with eggplant being the worst offender. I try to avoid cauliflower but Krista has been working on making me like it.

          I’ll take the asparagus and peas, though!!

  3. YUM – just give me a big spoon and I could dig in!

  4. Asparagus, peas, eggplant, cauliflower? Yes, please! Gross Brazilian vegetable called Jilo that is somehow in the okra family? No thank you!

  5. Yummmmmy! This looks so good. I’m definitely going to try it. Do you have any suggestions of things to serve it with?

    • misterkrista

      It would be good with a protein and a side of corn or a green vegetable. Or as a veggie side with enchiladas and stuff.

  6. I’d eat cauliflower any day (especially the core and leaves as a quick-snack..yum!). This just looks decadent. I’ll bet I could sneak this onto my non-veggie relative’s plates easily. Thanks again, MisterKrista. Your recipes don’t disappoint!

  7. This was great. Particularly for my post wisdom-teeth-extraction gums.

    • misterkrista

      I’m glad you liked it! And were able to eat some vegetables instead of just pudding. Although if I were in your shoes I might just eat pudding and ice cream.

Leave a Reply

