I’m going to Disneyland!

Levi & I are starting to prepare for what I have dubbed “Mommy & Me Spring Break 2012.” We have traveled a bit, but we have never done a trip, just the two of us. Jess isn’t a big fan of roller coasters or Disney, so she is sitting this one out. I am so excited, we are going to Disneyland!

Our last visit was 10 years ago, and a lot has changed. I hear they have apps to check the waits for different rides. We need your help! What else has changed? We will be there for 3 solid days with a pass for both parks and already have airfare and a hotel adjacent to the park. So tell us… what cannot be missed? What should we take? How can we keep our cell phones from getting soaked? Where can we get decent vegetarian food? I’m hoping healthy food options have improved a little since our last visit.

Comment with lots of advice, please!

19 Comments

Filed under family, travel

19 responses to “I’m going to Disneyland!

  1. I thought the Indiana Jones ride was da best!!! Enjoy your trip!

  2. As someone who went to Disneyland almost yearly as a small child, my mind is BLOWN at the idea of a phone app that tells you the wait-time for rides. WTF. The King Family Method was for my dad to bring a book, and wait in line and read while my mom took us to other things, and we’d keep coming back to check on him until he got close and then we’d hop in line with him. We made LOTS of friends this way.

    Anyway. I haven’t been since the 80’s, so I have no tips for you re: Disneyland. However, I can keep a cell phone dry! Just stick it in a zip-lock bag, and press all the air out before sealing it shut. My iphone still works through the bag – the screen registers my fingertips through the plastic, as long as the bag doesn’t have any extra air in it.

    Have fun!

    • misterkrista

      I was hoping a zip-lock would work!

    • misterkrista

      You probably went before Fast Pass, too. I loved that the last time we went. You basically stop by a ride and take a ticket that gives you a time window to come back and then when you come back you get in the Fast Pass line which goes a lot faster. I thought THAT was the best.

  3. Somer

    We were just there in January. My kids are so much younger then yours so the ride preference is different, but there are two good places I found for food. There is a little kiosk next to the Indiana Jones ride that has ALL KINDS of fresh fruit, I’m talking pineapple, grapes, strawberries, apples, oranges, bananas and more. Woohoo! Then in Tomorrowland there is a pizza joint, there are vegetarian pizza options as well as multiple beautiful salad choices made with organic baby lettuces. Hope that helps. Everything else was mostly fast food crap. We ended up packing our backpacks full of produce and snackage to help cut down on some of the cost. The park says they don’t allow food in, but at the gates they search your bags and no-one batted an eye at our goods.

    • Somer

      One more thing, be prepared to wait at least 30 minutes for most rides and more for rides that are super popular that you didn’t fast pass. It helps going with this expectation so you don’t get frustrated!

    • misterkrista

      Those salads sound good. Thanks!

  4. Indiana Jones ride for sure is a must. I went a few years ago, and I remember there being a good vegetarian “gumbo” in the small restaurant near the Pirates of the Caribbean. Have a great time!

  5. I second (or third, or fourth) the Gumbo in the “French Quarter” it’s REALLY good, especially when it comes in a breadbowl. It’s what I’ve insisted on the last couple trips to Disney Land. If you’ve got a budget, granola bars or fruit would be smart to bring with you since most snacks are really quite pricey. That being said, the Mickey Mouse sugar cookies are worth every penny. I always bring a bottle of water with me too…especially since it’s warming up out here.

    As for rides in DisneyLand, I like Space Mountain, Matterhorn (might want to put your phone in a plastic baggie for that one), and Splash Mountain (which was out of order the last time I visited). I’m also a sucker for the King Arthur Carousel. California Adventures has some pretty awesome rides too. Despite the wait, Tower of Terror is great, the bumper cars in the A Bug’s Life are actually really fun, and there’s a really fast rollercoaster near the ferris wheel that is pretty cool. There is also a “shooting” game that features the Toy Story characters that great for any age. Hope that helps!
    Enjoy the trip!

    • misterkrista

      Yes, now I’m excited about that gumbo. I do want to take some bars or something for snacks. I’m trying to talk the kid into wearing a fanny pack and so far he really dislikes that idea. Haha.

      Thanks!

  6. Weirdly, I’ve run into a few blogs that talk about eating veg (mostly vegan) at Disney. I can’t remember which Disney is which so I’ll just give you all of them. Behold:

    http://fourthstpayphone.blogspot.com/2012/02/i-like-food-in-disney.html

    http://www.martysflyingveganreview.com/2011/12/vegan-disney-and-california-adventure.html

    http://veggywood.com/2011/10/19/vegan-disneyland-2/

  7. Courtney

    I highly recommend Thuyen Vien (http://www.yelp.com/biz/thuyen-vien-anaheim). They have EXCELLENT vegan food. :)

    • misterkrista

      Whoa, I was just putting “vegetarian” into Yelp for Anaheim and that was the #1 result. We will get into town the afternoon before we start hitting Disneyland so I think we might need a good dinner that night.

  8. anna

    When I was 15, my brother and I went on the Twilight Zone Tower of Terror ride like five times in a row. The line weaves through the lobby of an abandoned Hollywood hotel, with great period furniture. (Or so my flapper-obsessed adolescent self thought.)

    Also, I liked that ride called something like big rocky thunder mountain railroad, because the line was short!

    You will have a blast!

    • misterkrista

      I don’t remember the Twilight Zone ride for some reason. That sounds awesome! I do remember loving the railroad one.

Leave a Reply

