Tagalong-Trefoil Cheesecake Bars

In our neck of the woods, we’re approaching Girl Scout cookie season! Since Jess is a life-long and professional Girl Scout, cookie season is an important part of our year. The other day, Jess asked me to come up with a Girl Scout cookie dessert to make that night for a work potluck. I quickly settled on the idea of cheesecake bars featuring two different cookies.

My first thought was that Trefoils (or Shortbread Cookies depending on your geographic location) would pair well with a lot of the other cookies. How about a Trefoil shortbread crust? Mmm, shortbread!

I thought peanut butter cheesecake might be good, so I went with Tagalongs for the second cookie (or Peanut Butter Patties depending on your geographic location).

And so Tagalong Cheesecake Bars with a Trefoil Crust were born. I’m told they were a hit at the potluck, and I know Levi and I sure enjoyed the little pieces that were left behind for us.

Tagalong-Trefoil Cheesecake Bars

for the crust:
1 box Trefoil cookies
½ cup butter, melted
¼ cup sugar

for the filling:
2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, room temperature
⅓ cup peanut butter
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
2 tablespoons flour
4 eggs
½ cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 box Tagalong cookies

Preheat the oven to 325° F.

In a food processor, pulse the Trefoil cookies until finely ground (makes a little over 2 cups). In a medium bowl, stir together the ground Trefoils, melted butter, and sugar. Press the mixture into the bottom of an ungreased 9X13” pan.

In a stand mixer, mix the cream cheese, peanut butter, brown sugar, and flour until smooth. Beat in the eggs, one at a time. Add the milk and vanilla and mix on low speed until combined.

Roughly chop the Tagalong cookies. Sprinkle half of the chopped cookies evenly over the prepared crust, and then pour the filling mixture on top. Sprinkle the remaining Tagalong cookie crumbles evenly over the top of the filling.

Bake at 325° F for 40-45 minutes. The center should be set, only jiggling slightly. Cool and then chill completely before cutting into bars.

Find out when cookie season happens in your area at girlscoutcookies.org, or better yet, get a Girl Scout Cookie app for your phone.

3 Comments

Filed under food

3 responses to “Tagalong-Trefoil Cheesecake Bars

  1. You are evil! It is completely unfair to show close-up pictures of Girl Scout cookies several weeks before I will have any chance to obtain any.

  2. Krista, I often read your blog for recipes, try them out and love them. I realized this morning however I as was re-reading some of the blog how I never say how amazing they are, or how I wonder in that you are such an amazing cook/chef! Just thought I would FINALLY share, I am so impressed!!! You, Jess, and Levi are all so SUPER awesome, I love reading your blog! -Wendy

Leave a Reply

