mystery feathers

I have a question about chicken feathers. Not when they get all ruffled like Ramona here. I love when they do that. My question is about Pepper Walker.

Chicken experts, please tell us novices – why does my chicken have whiskers on its butt?

None of our other ladies have these sticking out, hair-like feathers. I thought this might be a temporary thing, but they seem to be sticking around.

You know what is not easy to photograph? Tiny hair-sized feathers on your chicken’s butt. They sure enjoyed the glimpse of sunshine we got in the afternoon.

11 Comments

Filed under chickens

11 responses to “mystery feathers

  1. This is hilarious! I have no idea myself, but am sending the link to my cousin who has pretty chickens.

  2. Oh I love your pics!! They look to be the age of molting. Chickens molt yearly. If you don’t have it, I would highly recommend Storey’s Guide to Raising Chickens. It is the BIBLE of chicken keep. Here is what it says:
    Short day lengths serve as a signal to birds that it’s time to renew plumage in preparatoin for migration and the coming cold weather. Chickens lose and replace their feathers in one year intervals..it takes place over a period of weeks so a bird never looks naked but some come close. It lasts 14-16 weeks..some birds stop laying during this time. It can also result from disease, stress from weather temps going up or down, new birds, mean roosters, etc.
    Hope that helps!

    http://littlehouseinbigwoods.blogspot.com/2009/06/miracle.html

    • No signs of molting in any of our ladies. I think they were too young still when most of the chickens around here were molting. She’s had these funny feather/hairs for months. But we have checked out that book from the library and you are right – it is a good resource!

  3. Haha! Our barred rock had that before. I am not sure about now. I’ll check and let you know =) Whiskerbutts!

  4. Excuse me, I have to go look at Alec Baldwin’s butt.

  5. Pingback: Chicken Butts | Grow & Resist

  6. I’m far behind on my blog reader but I’m SO glad I saw this tonight! I needed this laugh more than I can say – and I most especially need an update on Alec Baldwin’s butt. *laughing*

  7. tartarsandteacups

    I stumbled upon this randomly- and so glad I did! I needed the laugh. I love the style of writing!

Leave a Reply

