GTL: Green Tea Latte

It’s finally cold in the Pacific Northwest, which means I have become very fixated on hot beverages. My latest obsession is the matcha green tea latte. You can get this beverage at many coffee shops, including Starbucks. The Starbucks version costs about as much as a day’s worth of food, so I’ve been making them at home. We are nothing if not frugal. Bonus: This is simpler than my coffee rituals, so my morning routine is faster.


Matcha powder is a finely milled, high-quality, powdered green tea from Japan. You can buy cakes, pastries, noodles, ice cream, candy, and smoothies flavored with matcha. It’s purported to have all kinds of health benefits, but I just like the flavor and energizing effect. We sourced this locally from the Tea Lady. You can also find it at high-end grocery stores, food co-ops, and health food stores. You cannot find it at Trader Joe’s. I checked.


I don’t use a lot of matcha in my lattes – about 1/4 tsp. I add the matcha powder to 8oz. of homemade soy milk (measured to fit my favorite cup) in a small sauce pan on the stove. I whirl it with my immersion blender to eliminate clumps. The milk gets very foamy if you use an immersion blender, so I recommend that you blend first, then heat it. The bubbles can mellow out while the milk warms. I greatly prefer the immersion blender, despite the foam. I cannot eradicate the matcha clumps with whisks, forks and sifting. Heat the milk and matcha, but don’t boil it.


Matcha can taste bitter, so I add sweetness to taste. Some coffee shops don’t sweeten them at all, but Starbucks sweetens their GTLs with melon syrup. It’s a little weird. I use plain sugar usually, but sometimes I take advantage of the exciting syrups we keep around. For example, this Ikea elderflower syrup.


That’s my GTL. Pour into your favorite vessel, and enjoy your Kermit-colored beverage.

xoxo,
Jess

8 Comments

Filed under food

8 responses to “GTL: Green Tea Latte

  1. <3 a green tea latte. matcha powder at amazon is cheaper than in the high end grocery stores here, plus on some of them you can subscribe and save money.

  2. Wow, that Elderflower syrup looks interesting. I am totally going to try this, but didn’t know where to find matcha here in Olympia. I don’t know why I didn’t think of the Tea Lady!

    • You can also get it at the co-op, although it often out of stock, and at Ralph’s, although it’s a lot more expensive and not portioned into single ounces. The tea lady was the best place I found b/c they have small amounts for sale, and several varieties to choose from. Enjoy!!

  3. Hah, you’ve got a Barista right here. I love me Green Tea Lattes (Matcha)

  4. YUM! we drink these at home too :)

  5. Sadly, after I mentioned giving you some of my starter, my household came down with the flu. I was totally preoccupied, forgot to feed it, and it got moldy. :( So depressing. But I’m going to start another one, and when I’m sure it’s dependable, I’ll send some your way.

    On another note, my partner is working on designing a traditional Japanese tea house to be built on Evergreen’s campus, and he’s got me hooked on matcha. Totally love it. I’m excited to try it in latte form!

    • Oh, you must be so bummed! But we can wait, so don’t worry about us. It gives us time to think of something good to trade you.

      The teahouse sounds great, and matcha is amazing, isn’t it? I love it.

      See you around!

  6. Thank you for a wonderful blog. Love everything, from your witty writing to the creative recipes, and of course your stunning photos.

Leave a Reply

