So long, 2011!

First of all, thank you to everyone who posted sweet things on our last post. Despite a rough week, it still seems like this has been an incredible year. If 2010 was great, 2011 was spectacular. Life is pretty sweet, and I have high hopes for it to continue to get better.

We accomplished some things this year. It feels good to make a list:

  • We finally added that flock of chickens we had been talking about for years.
  • With a lot of help from a friend and some good plans, I built the chicken coop of our dreams.
  • We ate for $5/person/day for an entire month, and started buying mostly organic food once we realized we can afford it.
  • Jess read her goal of 110 books. I know, she is crazy and amazing. Also, she suffers from insomnia.
  • I lost and kept off 40 pounds (no, those extra holiday pounds don’t count).
  • Slowly but surely we redecorated our bedroom. We might even share it with you soon.
  • We both became better gardeners, and expanded our garden into our first community plot.
  • I learned to can, and Jess practically became a canning guru.
  • We took an epic nine day family road trip and didn’t even come close to getting sick of each other.
  • I turned 35, and learned that it isn’t actually the kiss of death. In fact, I kind of think things are just starting to get good.
  • Jess got a second hive of bees, lost them twice, and learned a lot in the process.
  • I interviewed for and earned a promotion at work.
  • I put a lot of energy into cooking and photography, and saw real progress.
  • We blogged more, and gained some readers. Hello, and thank you so much!

Things that were popular in our house in 2011: The Hunger Games series, breakfast pizza for dinner, The Killing, paneer, baby chicks, porcini mushrooms, canning parties, quinoa (finally, I learned to love it), gay celebrity memoirs, Hitchcock films, baked oatmeal, and Little House on the Prairie.

Hopes for 2012: I never say this, but I think I’m going to read more in 2012. I know Jess and Levi both will, since they always do AND I gave them both Kindles for Christmas. We will be adding some new critters to the family. You can go ahead and guess what sort of critters, but I won’t confirm or deny anything. Maybe 2012 will be the year we get better at exercising on a regular basis, and better yet if it comes in the form of manual labor in the yard and house. We made a conscious decision to slow down on the house projects in 2011, but now it is time to move forward. Bonus points for all house/yard projects that improve organization. We have a lot on our plates, and decided against a month-long project for January. I have a handful of projects in mind that we hope to get started ASAP, so stay tuned!

Some photo highlights of our year:


January: a blur of cooking, photographing food, and adding up receipts.


February: One of many day trips to Portland.


March: Levi holds up the light fixture I assembled. Also pictured, our “new” bedroom lockers.


April: Alcatraz, one of many highlights of our road trip. Sadly, I lost my photos of about half of our trip when my computer hard drive croaked and they hadn’t been uploaded yet.


May: baby chick invasion!


June: We got a jar of honey from the backyard. We made homemade honey ice cream to celebrate.


July: the chickens moved outside! So many wonderful things happened in July, but this was probably my favorite picture of all year.


I tried to limit it to one photo from each month, but Mount St. Helens was special. Give me a break, July is the summer, two of our three birthdays, and our wedding anniversary. Things happen.


August: the Hoh Rainforest


September: Seattle adventures for my 35th birthday


October: Adventures in Astoria, OR


November: baked oatmeal, still going strong. In this instance, my gingerbread baked oatmeal.


December: a picnic in the park

What a year! Thanks for reading along with our adventures. It is so great to chronicle our journey here. We’re wishing you the happiest new year ever, full of laughter, love, good health, adventures, really excellent gardening weather and plenty of baked oatmeals.

xoxo,
Krista, Jess & our brood

8 Comments

Filed under family, traditions

8 responses to “So long, 2011!

  1. Chickens, adventures, and baked oatmeal — sounds like a great year overall!

    So glad to have found your blog. Here’s to more of everything (with heavy emphasis on laughter, love, and fun) in 2012.

  2. Shelley

    Belated condolences on the loss of Hatchet-Face and the bee colony. I was so sorry to hear the sad news. The day you posted I’d been out to the bee yard and learned that I’d lost our (second) struggling bee colony… I have new plans to start up two hives this spring–and hopefully not experience such a foreshortened cycle of life.
    I love reading your posts, which I’ve found to be quite inspirational and motivating when it comes to home/family projects. Best wishes for a very happy 2012!
    Shelley

  3. Lokyra Stone

    This was a really wonderful post. Thank you for sharing with us.
    You should hop over to my page and add a name suggestion for my lone chicken.

  4. 35 IS the turning point of just really getting good. I’m turning 40 in 16 days and I sincerely cannot wait!

  5. I love following your adventures. I can’t wait to have my own little mini farm so it is fun to follow. My guess for new animals? Sheep or Goaties (I hope since I am virtually farming through you blog. My dream animal is a dwarf nigerian)

  6. Kris Speakes

    Love reading your blog! I`m not a blog reader at all – so it`s really saying something that this is the only blog I follow. Happy 2012 to you all!!

Leave a Reply

