oat straw tea and ginger pie

Once in a great while an opportunity arises to see Harold & Maude on the big screen, and every single time I can’t make it. So this week I took a few hours off work so I could finally see one of my all-time favorites at our local theater.

There are too many wonderful things about this movie to list, like Harold’s devious face after another fantastic mock suicide.

Harold drives an old hearse and Maude lives in a rail car house. I think I’d rather have a rail car guest house parked outside, but this 1957 side loader hearse I found on Craigslist is pretty great. The hearse pictured above is a 1959 Cadillac.

Next time we watch the movie, I hope we have time to make a day of it. First, we need some of Maude’s oat straw tea.


Photo via Featherheart Trading Co.

Thanks to the miracle of Etsy, you can buy an organic Harold & Maude oat straw tea with cardamom and cinnamon. You don’t really hear about oat straw tea, but apparently it has all kinds of health benefits.


Photo via Serious Eats

Next we need some of Maude’s ginger pie. This is also not a pie you really hear about. You could try this ginger custard pumpkin pie. For a true ginger pie, Matthew Rowley’s recipe was cooked up when he discovered it isn’t so easy to just dig up a ginger pie recipe when Harold & Maude makes you hungry for one.

While I’m baking I can pull out the old Cat Stevens records. Or maybe I can buy his Gold album on mp3 so I can belt out the Harold & Maude anthem If You Want to Sing Out, Sing Out.

True story: in high school I had an English teacher who was also a football and wrestling coach. He was a gigantically tall man who wore those 90s Zubaz intensely patterned pants. He made us watch Vision Quest and other movies about coaches and sports teams. And we had to do a presentation where we each showed a movie to the class. I made my class watch Harold & Maude.

I did manage to resist the urge to buy these Harold & Maude finger puppets from the Cake Spy store in Seattle. These inspire all kinds of Harold & Maude crafts that could happen. I’m thinking Harold paper dolls with different outfits, like a hari kari Harold with a necktie, mat, and tantō. Now if only I had time to set aside an entire day. Someday this will happen!

4 Comments

Filed under family, film, food

4 responses to “oat straw tea and ginger pie

  1. I first watched Harold & Maude my first semester at Evergreen & fell in love!! I would have bought the finger puppets.

  2. This is one of my favorite films of all times. This is a beautiful film about embracing life. A lesson in living and loving life to the fullest until it is time for us to move on.

    • Mona Koczko

      Thank you. :) I love this movie, and you nailed it when you wrote, “This is a beautiful film about embracing life.” I am finding that some of the younger people today don’t ‘get’ this movie. I don’t get that. hmmm. I grew up listening to Cat Stevens, had a mad crush on him, and his music is still one of my favorites…goes perfectly with the movie. Every time I watch the movie, because I am the older generation now, I learn something wonderful from “Maude” every time. Again, thank you. :)

  3. That teeny smile of Harold’s is my favorite part of the entire movie! I’m glad someone appreciates that as much as I do! Awesome links, I’m just now realizing that it’s ‘oat’ and not ‘old’ straw tea..

Leave a Reply

