salted brown butter crispy treats with bittersweet chocolate

We are suckers for some good old-fashioned rice crispy treats. Yes, we are lazy vegetarians when it comes to marshmallows. It’s the s’mores in the summer and rice crispy treats that do it. My favorite variety is peanut butter crispy treats with chocolate chips. When I realized I had somehow never seen Smitten Kitchen’s recipe for salted brown butter crispy treats, I realized I needed to broaden my horizons in the world of rice crispy treats. Brown butter!

I may have detracted a little from the subtle flavor of the brown butter by smothering these in chocolate. I melted a cup of bittersweet (60% cacao) chocolate chips and dipped the already cooled and sliced treats into it before sprinkling the tops with espresso salt. They were heavenly.

So what next? Nutella? Salted caramel? Cocoa puffs? What is your favorite variation on the rice crispy treat?

7 Comments

Filed under food

7 responses to “salted brown butter crispy treats with bittersweet chocolate

  1. Brown butter is one of my favorite things. As are Rice Crispy treats. Game on.

  2. cookingsomethingsimple

    These sound awesome!! I came across this recipe awhile back (have a few food allergies in the house and it came to mind reading this post,,,,

    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Homemade-Marshmallows-242701

    • misterkrista

      Homemade marshmallows are something I’ve always meant to experiment with and just never get around to… I really have to try to make some soon.

      • cookingsomethingsimple

        Well with that recipe there doesn’t seem to be much to it, and I’m looking forward to trying them myself (haven’t had the chance). I made the mistake of pouring a peppermint extract blend over store bought marshmallows [for peppermint hot chocolate] and it wasn’t much but it absorbs flavor really really quickly and holds it. If you add a flavoring agent to it I suggest using very little or it’ll be super strong :)

  3. Pingback: Salted Brown Butter GF Rice Crispy Treats « glutenfreefail

Leave a Reply

