day-tripping

I’ve had regular people weekends off all summer, but I’ve now reached the part of my schedule where work overlaps the Saturday/Sunday weekends that Jess has off. Boo. We debated what to do with my last Sunday off. Tackle a project around the house? Do something really fun? We opted for the latter, and took a quickie road trip for the day.

Satsop Nuclear Power Plant, Satsop.

Don’t worry, moms, it was abandoned before it was ever used.

Kurt Cobain Riverfront Park, Aberdeen

I remarked on how the neighbors must hate having the park there, but turns out one of them made it happen.

Zelasko Park, Aberdeen

Chainsaw carvings and one of them a lumberjack? This combines some of my favorite Pacific-Northwesty things. We had to stop. The carvings have plaques that say “Louis Benanto Jr. 1971.” I couldn’t find a lot of information about them or the park online.

Ruby Beach, Olympic National Park

I cannot say enough good things about this gorgeous beach.

Hoh Rainforest, Olympic National Park

Where we saw lots of moss, elk, slugs, and billions of mosquitos.

What a spectacular day. Staycation for the win.

Want to see more photos? Yes, there are more. Full Flickr set here.

10 Comments

Filed under family

10 responses to “day-tripping

  1. haha when i first saw this i though it was aberdeen in scotland… and then i saw the beach. nope, we dont have that in the UK, i much prefer your stay
    cation!!
    http://sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com/

  2. i went w/ my folks out to the hoh when i lived out there. it’s very gorgeous.

  3. You give photography lessons, right? These are beautiful.

  4. Thank you – I’m a newbie, but I’m learning.

  5. Your pictures are making me miss my days in the NW. Beautiful pictures by the way!

Leave a Reply

