day thirty!


(Click here for an explanation of the project.)

Here’s what we ate for $3.68 today, January 31, 2011.

BREAKFAST

steel cut oatmeal $0.10
2 tablespoons raisins $0.08
small handful toasted pecans $0.19
2 teaspoons brown sugar $0.02

LUNCH

day-old everything bagel $0.50
3 tablespoons light cream cheese w/ scallions $0.24
carrots $0.16

DINNER

spicy stuffed pepper $1.56

coleslaw $0.33

SNACKS

banana $0.25
grapefruit $0.25

total $3.68

I didn’t exactly plan to go out with the most colorful dinner possible, but somehow tonight’s dinner turned out extra snazzy, don’t you think? It’s like Funfetti, but made out of real food that is good for you. The stuffed peppers had a real kick to go along with that colorful display. Levi actually got to eat two portions and then asked if he could eat some leftover filling I baked into a ramekin for breakfast. I’m a little concerned he’s going to grow a couple inches while he’s sleeping tonight.

Wow, last day! I have to admit, I am kind of burned out on calculating the cost of everything. I won’t miss that at all. There are so many things I am going to miss. We are busy coming up with ways to incorporate this stuff into our daily life going forward, and figuring out how to continue sharing some of it with y’all. And in the coming week we plan to post some reflections and calculations and maybe even an interview with Levi.

xo Krista

6 Comments

Filed under food

6 responses to “day thirty!

  1. This has been a really fun project to read about. I have made a few dishes that were inspired by something I saw here. Thanks for sharing your journey with us.

  2. caitlin

    this has been awesome.

    • it was awesome in no small part because you shared your steel cut oats method, we made it like 100 times this month, and it is so good! definitely a permanent part of my repertoire now!

  3. bookliness

    Yes, I’ve loved reading about your project. I’ll be curious to hear your thoughts on it now that it’s over. How hard was it? How much of a change from how you normally eat/ate? Was the cooking/eating part hard, or just the calculating and not eating out? Well done, y’all!

    • It means a lot to me that you followed a long. We’re going to do a couple big wrap-up posts, like Krista said, and try to stay accountable through the year. I think we’re on the right track, but it doesn’t feel like a real capital-H Habit yet. I think the Levi interview might be the highlight? Because I’m a parent and I always think Levi is the highlight.

      BTW, the stuffed pepper recipe is kind of awesome if you’re ok with semi-spicy food. It’s so Michael Pollan/”eat the rainbow”/whole grain, you know?

Leave a Reply

