day twenty-one


(Click here for an explanation of the project.)

Here’s what we ate for $4.02 yesterday, January 22, 2011.

BREAKFAST

large multi-grain waffle $0.31
1/4 cup blueberry sauce (freebie – made with blueberries rescued from the bottom of the freezer)

1/6 honeydew melon $0.33

LUNCH

leftover peanut satay sandwich (minus the egg we added before) $0.74

DINNER

butternut black bean chili $0.91

quinoa skillet bread $0.34

SNACKS

1/3 cup soy milk (with coffee) $0.09
organic lowfat plain yogurt $0.40
tablespoon of honey $0.06
1 ounce piece of leek & morel cheese $0.44
2 ounces grape tomatoes $0.04

total $4.02

Whoa, do I ever have a new favorite food blog. I already made Jess request her book from the library. I’ve had some recipes bookmarked from 101 Cookbooks for awhile. I’m not sure if I ever ended up making any. Today we randomly made two recipes (one Jess found when we were in search of multigrain waffles, another came highly recommended by a friend). Both were home runs.

I followed the Multigrain Waffles recipe almost exactly. The only substitution I made was canola oil in place of melted butter. I know, I know, butter is magical. We are trying really hard to not eat too much animal fat. Canola oil is a tiny bit cheaper than butter purchased on sale – about 2 cents per tablespoon.

These waffles were terrific – light and fluffy with a little crunch from the poppy seeds. If I hadn’t made them I would have guessed they were about half white flour, but there wasn’t even any wheat flour at all. It features barley, oat, and rye flour, all cheap when bought in bulk. If you’re looking to add more whole grains to your repertoire, this is a great start. We got 8 large (whole waffle maker sized) waffles from the recipe, making them 31 cents per giant waffle. I made extra and our freezer is now stocked.

And then we made the quinoa skillet bread. Oh lord. I can’t properly express to you how much we loved this recipe. It took all the restraint we had not to just sit and eat the entire pan of it for dinner. We would have gladly all eaten another piece for dessert. We may never eat cornbread again in this house. It could never be as creamy and custardy.

Modifications: if I were making this for a dinner party, I’d go all out and pour that cup of heavy cream in the middle. I am sure it is amazing. Again, we are trying really hard not to eat too much animal fat. I love me some cream. But I was having a hard time justifying it on this project of healthy food on a budget. So I looked into substituting light coconut milk.

1 cup heavy cream = 88 grams fat
1 cup coconut milk = 57 grams fat
1 cup Trader Joe’s light coconut milk = 15 grams fat

Now, I doubt light coconut milk would set up in the middle the way the cream is intended to in the recipe. I mixed it in. I would pretend I made an educated decision to do that, but I really just didn’t read the recipe all the way through before starting. I also used coconut oil in place of butter and non-dairy milk. I think the coconut really added a great flavor. Jess says it is hard to imagine the full fat dairy version is any better. I would have to guess that 70 more grams of fat would have to add something amazing, but this version works for us.

Here’s the nutrition info based on dividing into 9 servings with our modifications. The original version has about 80 more calories and 8 more grams of fat per piece. Oh, and I was a little surprised that despite using coconut milk and oil it was only 34 cents per piece.

– The honeydew melon was a produce happy hour find. Our local store has a deal every Tuesday. It actually lasts 3 hours, of course during peak dinner shopping time.

– The leek & morel cheese was from the mark-down cheese bin we have become very familiar with and also served as an excuse for me to feed it to Levi and then tell him he was eating mushrooms after he liked it.

– The chili was a recipe I made up, intended to use up some leftover butternut squash. It also had zucchini, carrot, onion, and hominy. Oh, and ancho chiles.

2 Comments

Filed under food

2 responses to “day twenty-one

  1. Hillary

    I am so enjoying reading about this project! I have an idea for a present I’d like to get for you all. Could you send me your address? I’m not sure if my email address shows up on your end, but if not just send me a FB message.

Leave a Reply

