day twenty


(Click here for an explanation of the project.)

Here’s what we ate for $3.87 yesterday, January 21, 2011.

BREAKFAST

steelcut oats (from 1/3 cup dry) $0.10
2 tablespoons raisins $0.08
1 tablespoon slivered almonds $0.06
2 teaspoons brown sugar $0.02

LUNCH

1 cup dal palak $0.93 (it just keeps going)
1 cup cooked quinoa $0.36

DINNER

grilled satay peanut sandwich $0.91
organic Cameo apple $0.52

SNACKS

1/3 cup soy milk (with coffee) $0.09
banana $0.25
tablespoon of organic peanut butter $0.09
8 ounces plain lowfat yogurt $0.40
1 tablespoon honey $0.06

total $3.87

Woohoo, two-thirds through! I spent so much time today plotting and planning and grocery shopping, it feels good to know it’s downhill from here on out. At the same time, I want to implement a lot of the stuff we’re doing into our everyday lives minus the tight restrictions and all the calculations. Do you have a dry erase board on your fridge with your meals for the week? Or a spreadsheet system? Do tell!

I am not really sure why we are eating so much peanut butter. A banana with a tablespoon of peanut butter is my new favorite snack and I may be a little obsessed, but I don’t know how it has made its way into so many meals. We are trying to eat more protein, but I normally try to keep it lower in fat. Tonight’s dinner had a decadent amount of peanut butter. It had so much peanut butter I was worried about cost and bought some cheaper stuff that was not organic, although we have found the best deal on organic seems to be Trader Joe’s at $2.50 for a 16 ounce jar. That even beats the bulk organic stuff at the co-op.

The first time we made these sandwiches we added seitan. That was pretty spectacular, but we can’t afford store-bought seitan and haven’t found the time to make homemade. We decided to get a little crazy and add a fried egg, and boy was that ever a good idea. And a little Sriracha doesn’t hurt either. Except Levi. He was happy without it.

I chuckled for a good minute when I saw this photo. Poor kid, his mom keeps taking his picture while he eats.

Here’s the cost on dinner:

6 day-old ciabatta rolls $2.66
1-1/2 cups peanut butter $0.96
2 tablespoons soy sauce $0.06
2 tablespoons brown sugar $0.04
2 tablespoons lime juice $0.09
1/4 sliced red onion $0.11
4 ounces bean sprouts $0.45
3 tablespoons fresh grated ginger root (leftover)
handful of cilantro for K only (too small to calculate)
2 tablespoons canola oil $0.06
6 eggs $1.02

Our big score was finding the exact kind of day-old bread we wanted. We would have gone with something else otherwise.

Oh, and I promise no oatmeal tomorrow!

3 Comments

Filed under food

3 responses to “day twenty

  1. Hillary

    I want to nom that sandwich.

  2. Sally

    I’ve really been enjoying reading your posts throughout this project–has me thinking about our weekly food costs and the decisions we make about when to cut corners.

    We use a monthly calendar for our menu. Well–five weeks, so a little more than a month. I set it up in Excel, and at the end of Month A I go through and fill in Month B. That’s the goal, at any rate. Doesn’t always happen in as timely a manner as I’d like. I save the files each month, and like to use them for reference. Our breakfasts don’t vary much, but I do sometimes put in special breakfasts for the weekends. And I don’t bother with lunch, as that’s usually leftovers from whatever we’ve been dining on. Or PB&J. And I try to note anything in our calendar that would have an effect on dining plans–travel, working late, nights that would be good to have friends over, nights that I think we’re going to want to take a break and get pizza from the deli up the street…We stray on occasion, but I find that we stray a lot less when I plan our month pretty thoroughly and make sure to print and post it on the fridge. If it gets printed and stays in my purse, we always veer off the plan.

Leave a Reply

