cheap & easy hummus

Hummus is popular stuff around these parts. We usually eat it on sandwiches, bagels, or as a dip for cut up veggies. Awhile back I had someone tell me they priced it out and it was cheaper to buy it at the store. I didn’t believe it for a second, but I have always made hummus by dumping a little of this and a little of that until it tastes just right. So I measured it out this time. Well, you tell me, can you get 3 cups of hummus for cheaper than $2.72 at your local store?

Make 3 cups or 48 tablespoons.

one clove garlic, minced $0.01
2 (15.5 ounce) cans chickpeas $1.60
1/4 cup tahini $0.80
3 tablespoons water
3 tablespoons lemon juice $0.05 (price for bottled)
2 tablespoons olive oil $0.26
salt to taste

Total cost $2.72 or 6 cents per tablespoon.

Directions, puree in a food processor until smooth. If your canned beans are especially dry, you may need to add more water or lemon juice to get the right consistency.

Favorite variations: fold in chopped roasted red bell pepper or your favorite olives.

Of course, my version is designed to be a little lighter and a little cheaper by using water in place of some of the fat. Tahini will be your most expensive ingredient. This price was based on a 16 ounce jar of tahini I found on sale for $5.59. I can usually find it here in Olympia for $6 to $8 for a 16 ounce jar. What’s a jar of tahini run you? Or do you make your own?

Wow, a 6 cent gram of protein? Here’s the complete nutrition breakdown per tablespoon.

11 Comments

Filed under food, recipes

11 responses to “cheap & easy hummus

  1. I am definitely going to try this recipe–I love hummus. Thank you!

  2. Rad! We hope you love it as much as we do! Let me know what you think.

  3. Patrice Helmar

    Yum!

    I love roasting a head of garlic when I make my hummus. Also, if you can find it, toasted tahini is the bee’s knees. I’d bathe in hummus.

  4. Pingback: day eleven | krista and jess

  5. Pingback: day thirteen | krista and jess

  6. Pingback: day fourteen | krista and jess

  7. Lisa

    We are able to get Al Wadi tahini at the Park Slope Food Coop for $3.22 for a 16 oz jar. Organic tahini is running $6-8.

  8. amalle

    file under how to make lesbian friends:
    may i propose the addition of cumin to your hummus recipe? it makes it really good. also if you start with the tahini & stir in just enough water/lemon juice to make it go white and goopy before adding in the garlic & chickpeas, it makes the other stuff blend in real smooth and easy (i think).

    also! a good hummus alternative: lots (and lots) of parsley instead of chickpeas. process until bright grass green. intense flavor and lots of vitamin c.

Leave a Reply

