Summer Brine

I grew these cukes in our front yard. I remember pushing the seeds into the dirt like it was yesterday, fighting the deer that kept eating the tender vines down to the dirt. And here they are on their way to becoming pickles. They grow up so fast!

So far this year we have pickled green beans, peaches and cukes. I also learned to pickle carrots and beets in a pickling class, but we haven’t done it at home yet. All of our pickle recipes come from the Ball Book, which I highly recommend.

I stopped by the spice store to buy some pickling spice, and we got to talking about pickles, and the proprietress asked me, “What on earth are you going to do with All Those Pickles?” Perhaps you have not met my family, the family of PickleEaters. 6 pints of cucumber pickles might not last a month in our house. Levi would probably drink the leftover pickle brine if we looked away. This year, I might need to arrange for a bulk cucumber purchase to supplement our yard’s production. Next year, I will plant twice or three times as many cucumbers.

Krista makes the labels. She’s good at things like that.

9 Comments

Filed under fall, food, garden, urban farming

9 responses to “Summer Brine

  1. Those labels are adorable! Is that just regular scrapbooking paper with letter stamps? CUTE! And it gave me a great idea for whenever I start selling and packaging my knits. Will Krista need royalties for this idea? Cash or check?

    If I ate pickles, I’d buy some from you…

    • jess s

      Aw, thanks! She was a good hire. (ha) It’s plain white paper. The woodgrain is a big stamp that you stamp on for the background. Then when it’s dry, the letters are stamped on top. I was very pleased with the results. She accepts cash or checks. What kind of knit stuff are you going to sell?

      If we sold pickles, you would be my first customer.

  2. We made pickled onion rings with some red pepper rings thrown in. They look so pretty!

  3. andrea

    i want to try pickled peaches so much!! please tell me all about them in detail. thanks.

    • jess s

      you know i owe you a jar of something and i’m just waiting for you to pick out what you want and tell me, right? i assume you know that.

  4. Sandi Hankins

    I have found a great recipe for refrigerator pickles that I wanted to share with ya’ll! They are super easy to make and stay crisp like Classen pickles.

    Approximately: 30 pickling cucumbers

    Brine: 1 1/2 Quarts water
    1 1/2 cups cider vinegar
    1/2 cup salt
    2 Tbsp dried minced onion
    1 Tbsp processed minced garlic
    1/2 Tbsp mustard seed
    2 tsp sugar
    1 Tbsp dill seed

    In each pint jar: 1/16 crushed red pepper
    3 peppercorns
    1/4 tsp dill weed

    Bring the brine ingredients to a boil in a non-reactive pot. Stir to be sure all salt is dissolved. Cover and let cool to room temperature.

    In the bottom of each sterilized pint canning jars place the red pepper, peppercorns, and dill weed.

    Slice cucumbers into spears and pack into jars until tight. Fill jars to top with cooled brine. Cap jars tightly. Let sit on counter for 3 days turning each day. Place jars in the refrigerator at the end of 3 days. Ready to eat 4 days after being placed in the refrigerator, although we have been known to sample them as soon as they are cool.

    Must be kept refrigerated, will keep for 5 months.

Leave a Reply

