Portland Food Carts

I know that all the foodies already know about the Portland food cart pods, BUT I just have to weigh in on the matter. The PDX food carts are awesome. Last weekend, Krista and I had a very successful visit to Portland. We were on a mission to buy a new bike (!!) for my birthday, and we made a point of eating every possible morsel we could stuff into our faces from the food carts. If you need info about food carts in Portland, this is where you should start.

We started the day by breakfasting at the Mississippi Marketplace – N Mississippi & Skidmore. I have to say, one of my favorite things about being married is that Krista & I share our food, so I get to try twice as much food as I could ever eat by myself. We had falafel from the Magic Bean, a freshly squeezed pearot (pear/carrot) juice from Dogfeather’s Coffee and Juice, and some vegetarian tacos from Nuevo Mexico. Everything was adequately delicious, although we missed the Big Egg. They closed before we got there. This is the danger of driving 115 miles because you’re obsessed with breakfast sandwiches.

Since I’ve had a major sugar obsession for, oh, the last 25 years or so, my absolute fave was the Sugar Cube. This is actually a Triple Threat Ice Cream Sandwich. Described like this: “Triple chocolate chunk, espresso and pecan cookies sandwiched betwixt a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream, then doused with dreamy salted caramel.” I know, I know. I feel the same way.

My heart beats a little pitter patter when I see that dreamy salted caramel sauce.

OK so that was our face-stuffing breakfast. We had some errands to run around town, including visiting Clever Cycles, one of the best bike shops ever, and the Urban Farm Store. I am glad that I visited the Urban Farm Store. I totally support what they are doing and I think it’s great, but I don’t need to drive to Portland for that. I know where to source all that stuff closer to home.

Then, it was time for lunch. I had biked all over Ladd’s Addition to test out my new Linus. I needed fuel. We drove past the food cart pod at SE 12th and Hawthorne, and then circled the block. After perusing all the options, we agreed on vegetarian poutine at Potato Champion. They were blasting Madonna, Britney and Kelly Clarkson. It’s a shame that we missed the crepes and fried pies at this pod, but as John Waters says, “You have to save something for the autumn of your years.” Although he is most definitely not talking about food carts when he says that, it still rings true.

Cute, huh? Really cute. Imagine Madonna turned up all the way while you’re looking at this guy’s happy face. His beard is smiling, okay? Love it.

Poutine is a Canadian dish consisting of french fries topped with cheese curds and brown gravy. I’m certainly not Canadian so I don’t mind if they re-mix poutine, but my ancestry is very Irish. I have a lot of strong opinions about what should and should not be done to potatoes, so this was a gamble. It paid off, however, when we were rewarded with the most perfect french fries, delectable cheese curds, and a perfectly adequate vegetarian gravy. I wish we could have eaten an entire french fry buffet, with Rosemary Truffle Ketchup, Pesto Mayo, Harder Sweet Hot Mustard, and Satay Sauce. It would have been unreasonable to eat more french fries, though. Next time, Potato Champion, I am going to devour your fancy condiments.

4 Comments

Filed under food, summer

4 responses to “Portland Food Carts

  1. ooh, i like that artist – http://scrapperstown.com/home/
    he has a kid named camper, i think.

  2. Sharon

    Haven’t been to the urban farm store, but if you’re ever in Sellwood you should check out Naomi’s — http://naomisorganic.blogspot.com/ It would probably be a little more up your alley. Plus, there are some great food carts down that way — I recommend the red curry at Bruce Lee’s kitchen.

  3. Jani

    Next time you are here, call me. My beau and I would love to take you around on another eating tour! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

