Peppery fresh bites

Finally, the clouds have parted and our garden has made a little food. This is an immature french breakfast radish, plucked prematurely and shared, bite for bite by Levi and I. (Krista was at work, we don’t habitually exclude her from garden treats). It was a delicious radish, sharp and peppery and crunchy and cold like the exact soil temperature it came from.

Many of our radishes are suffering from severe slug damage. So are my artichokes, kale, brussels sprouts, basil, dahlias and peas. There are a lot of things I could be doing to deal with the slugs (beer traps, copper tape, sluggo, etc), but I am not doing anything to deal with my slugs besides murdering them when I see them. They are so many, and I am only one person and there are only so many hours in a day.

What do slugs love the most? Maybe I should plant a lot of that as a slug trap to keep them away from everything else.

xoxo,
jess

7 Comments

Filed under garden, summer, urban farming

7 responses to “Peppery fresh bites

  1. Hillary

    I’ve heard that radishes are a good decoy crop, but that doesn’t work if you love them! I just murdered a bunch of earwigs by setting out cat food cans full of vegetable oil. Not sure if that works for slugs.

    • jess s

      wellllllllllllll i like radishes but i would use them as a slug trap if need be. my stupid mistake was planting all the radishes together, not interspersed with everything else. so the slugs can visit the radish buffet while their buddies eat the (everything else). it’s not really trapping them so much as encouraging their population.

      i just started feeding my cats wet cat food again, so maybe i will try some of them out as little traps in the garden. i have not had good luck with trapping in the past, but i keep trying. i have failed with beer traps. i also read you can put a juicy piece of fruit rind face down and by morning it will be a slug trap. i bought watermelon for this purpose – to levi’s delight – and i caught zero slugs.

  2. Hillary

    Mmm- I’m eating a salad right now made of lettuce, chard, radishes, and purslane from the garden. It’s been so hot here that the radishes are bolting! The lettuce seems to mostly be okay, I think because it’s planted under the wacky homemade pea trellis. This reminds me I need to post some garden photos.

    • jess s

      my garden purslane never grew! i think it was too early when i sowed it. and then we had 2 months of rain and cold blech. this reminds me i should reseed that patch!

      your salad sounds delicious. where are you going to post pix?

      • Hillary

        Our purslane is just a weed. I got this book called, “Best-Tasting Wild Plants of Colorado and the Rockies,” so I could figure out which weeds to eat. Purslane is really tasty! I haven’t tried the mallow yet, but we have tons of it. If only bindweed was edible.
        I took some pictures yesterday, but it was too bright out for them to look good. I’ll try again this afternoon.

  3. Margot Tenenchop

    Oh My! We have some radishes growing in our little garden but it’s been so rainy this summer that the only thing doing very well are the potatoes and the sweet peas. Have you tried putting down wooden boards for the slugs? My dad would have several planks in the garden and harvest the slugs each morning and move them to another area in the yard. Seemed kind of effective . . .

    • jess s

      I have not used boards, but I have used melon rinds (same theory) to no avail. My slugs are smart, they don’t like beer, and they are really really good at hiding. When I do find them, I take an unfamiliar delight in squashing them. I usually do not hurt critters, but I have a serious problem with slugs.

      This rain is killer. My potatoes are also doing well, though !

Leave a Reply

