purple cow with a lime twist

Do yourself a favor next time it’s a really hot day and make yourself a float. Don’t just make any float, make this float. Some fresh squeezed lime can really improve an ice cold soda, and a favorite in our house is grape soda with half a lime in it. The other day we got a burst of sunshine around these gloomy parts, and it occurred to me that turning our favorite drink into a float could be a good idea. Boy was I right.

Here’s what you need:

Good old-fashioned grape soda. I’m sorry, but I have a special place in my heart for artificial grape flavor.

Half a lime.

Vanilla ice cream. You are going to pour grape soda on it, so it doesn’t have to be fancy. This is vanilla bean. Mmm.

Fill up a tall glass with scoops of ice cream and zest some lime over the top.

Squeeze half a lime over the top and squish the lime wedges into the glass.

Pour grape soda over the top.

Let the magic happen and put it in your belly. You won’t regret it.

And Jess and Levi won’t forgive me if I don’t mention that you have to suck the last bits out of the lime wedges when you get to the end.

2 Comments

Filed under food

2 responses to “purple cow with a lime twist

  1. Hillary

    I want to believe you that this is good, but I think grape soda is so gross!

    • misterkrista

      Well, I’m sure it is a love it or hate it thing. I happen to really, really love grape soda. However, I’ve heard some people make purple cows with like blueberry and grape juice.

Leave a Reply

