Hive Inspection: III

We did a quick hive inspection this weekend. Things are looking crowded. THe bees had comb drawn out in all eight frames, and brood out to the sixth frame. Things are going well. Looks cozy, eh?

I was nervous about expanding the hive, “How will I know when I should add the second box?!” I have read too much about building out too quickly and causing confusion and troubles for the bees. In the end, I just followed my instincts and built up when it felt right. I added another 8-frame medium brood box Saturday (5/22). I poked around in there the next day, and there were already bees drawing lovely comb on the foundation.

Leave a comment

Filed under bees, spring, urban farming

Leave a Reply

