today was a good day

I have a long list of stuff I didn’t get to today, but somehow I feel so accomplished that none of it matters. It must be the deep spring cleaning I started on our house. Some things are shinier than they’ve been since we moved in. How refreshing. We finally potted up some of the last of our overgrown seedlings. We even bravely planted some of our brassicas outside though we’ve still got two more weeks before our official last frost date. I think we’ll be okay. All that, and we managed to check in on the bees and make a fancy dinner. And somehow during all the cooking and cleaning I managed to watch all six episodes of Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution. I got sucked in!

Tonight’s dinner, or brinner, I should say, was inspired by this joint:

Tom’s Restaurant in Brooklyn. Not to be confused with the Tom’s that is famous for Seinfeld and Suzanne Vega songs. This is the Tom’s that is famous for amazing food. Levi ordered the lemon ricotta pancakes, and they were fluffy, pillowy little bites of heaven. And since I’ve been dying to make lemon curd for a long time, I decided to make ricotta pancakes with lemon curd on top.

First I made the lemon curd. This was really fun. Pretty similar to making hollandaise. Okay, I can do that. Nothing can stop me now from making lime curd, and… what else can you turn into sweet and creamy curd?

Then the ricotta pancakes. Too bad I forgot to buy the ricotta and had to run to the co-op before dinner could happen. Here’s what I did:

6 eggs, divided
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
zest of 1 lemon
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons cake flour
a dash of salt
one 15 ounce package whole milk ricotta
2 tablespoons olive oil

Whisk together egg yolks, sugar, and lemon zest about two minutes. Add in flour and salt and mix just until combined. Add in ricotta and oil and again mix just until combined. Beat egg whites to stiff peaks and fold into the batter. Then cook them just like you do any other pancake.

I aked Levi how they compared to Tom’s.

He said they might be better.

xo Krista

10 Comments

Filed under family, food

10 responses to “today was a good day

  1. Emma

    MMMMM….. curd…. I am a huge fan and have made lemon, lime, blackberry, passionfruit and mango. There. More things to make into sweet, creamy curd. Invite me over.

  2. Emma

    OH NO!! Not Clementine! she may be trouble but she’s so cute…

  3. Emma

    anyway, I thought you all were veggie.

    • misterkrista

      Funny, I had to re-read “clementine curd” three times. It kept making me think of the dog and then I had to make sure I wrote curd and not turd. Seriously.

      Anyway, maybe it would be better with regular ol’ oranges.

  4. andrea

    please to break your oklahoma visitation embargo to come make me these pancakes. ;___;

  5. caitlin

    today was a good day

Leave a Reply

