an indulgent dinner and dessert

After spending an entire day nursing a headache and the nausea that was probably the result of taking pain relievers on an empty stomach, I convinced Jess to make this for dinner:

Potato, cheese, & ale soup garnished with more cheese and crushed up pretzels.

It wasn’t hard to convince her, since the recipe was made up of several of our favorite things. Beer! Cheese! Potatoes! Smoked Paprika! It was her own fault for leaving this blog up on my laptop. I started looking through the recipes, and despite my rather intense nausea I started to get really, really hungry.

We went with Newcastle Brown Ale and the only change was to use a little more potato. In fact, I just made up another batch today and used even more potato. We like our soup thick around here.

This magical dinner + a little caffeine and my 24-hour headache finally started to fade away. So I was inspired to make dessert. Dessert pizza, in fact. This is a little funny if you’ve ever heard me launch into a tirade against the atrocity of dessert pizza. But here I was all headachey, watching a billion episodes of Rescue Me on Netflix streaming. Also kind of funny – the 911 dispatcher watching a show about firefighters on her day off. Anyway, Lou was eating a dessert pizza with chocolate and marshmallow on top. Somehow I decided that we had to make this, only using Nutella in place of chocolate and mascarpone in place of marshmallow. Because I guess we’re just fancy like that.

And yes, this was freaking delicious.

Leave a comment

Filed under food

Leave a Reply

