if life is a game, i win

I know everyone probably (hopefully) loves their spouse, but it’s hard to believe that I’m not the most spoiled, pampered, indulged person. First, when we were discussing the garden, Krista said to me, “Just buy whatever seeds you want. We can grow whatever you want. It’s better to have too many seeds.” Do you know what that sounds like to a person who reads seed catalogs for fun? All I could say was, I totally agree and I totally love you.

Then, Krista took it upon herself to learn how to use power tools – table saws, circular saws, drills and other tools I probably don’t even know about – to make a raised bed for our garden. I came home from work and found it in the driveway. And she still had 10 fingers! Then, she built some more.

Isn’t it beautiful?? And you should see how cute she looks in her safety goggles. The beds are all 8′ long, and today Krista measured out all of my seed packets on top of one bed. Seed packages, asparagus crowns, rhubarb roots, and seed potatoes. It’s a little ridiculous that there are more than 8 feet of seed packets in my house, but I’m so thrilled by the seeds we chose.

So, these are the first photos of our 2010 garden. Baby photos, or, like, embryo photos of the garden. I really hope I’m done buying seeds and stuff now. Well, mostly done. You know how it goes.

While Krista may have been a little surprised at the volume of seeds we own now, she didn’t miss a beat. Her reaction was to build a muppet face out of the rhubarb root, an asparagus crown, and a few seed potatoes. This is the sort of thing that affirms your belief in the awesomeness of your marriage. It’s like always being on the winningest team.

7 Comments

Filed under home, marriage, spring, urban farming

7 responses to “if life is a game, i win

  1. wow, that sun dappled raised bed frame is so sexy!
    you are a lucky woman.
    just so you know that I am still in the game to win it–my butch honey spent yesterday afternoon making extension cords for the shop lights I got at home depot for germinating. when we get home from brunch she is gonna attach them to my seedling shelves. and right now, she is grating 10 lemons worth of zest to make a half gallon of limoncello.
    so I am giving you a run for the money in the game of life. ;)

    • jess s

      oh that sounds so sweet! I don’t think there is a cap on the number of people who can win at “being loved by their sweetheart too much,” so stay in it to win it! And send me some of that limoncello!!!

  2. Kate D.

    I love your bed! I’m building five for my back yard this year and doing a gravel patio. It may be a little ambitious. Did Krista use a specific plan? I’m planning to use Sunset’s guide, which looks kind of like yours but with longer posts to sink into the ground and no stabilizing middle posts: http://www.sunset.com/garden/backyard-projects/ultimate-raised-bed-how-to-00400000011938/.

    Potatos and squash and peas, oh my!

    • jess s

      We did look at the sunset plan for inspiration, which is why they are sort of similar. that sunset plan is one of the very few very clear plans either of us could find online. we made a few modifications, though. we decided to use 2x4s instead of 4x4s for the corner posts, to make the beds 24″ high instead of 16″, and to add the stabilizing middle posts (based on our experience with our 6′ beds last year that got a little weird in the middle of the longest length). oh yeah, and as i mentioned at work, we used the cheapest wood at the hardware store, not cedar because those cedar boards are really expensive! i’m so stoked on my seeds this year, i spent most of the weekend just caressing them. oh , and making spreadsheets about them.

    • misterkrista

      I haven’t really built anything since I was a kid, so the whole thing was a big learning experience. If you’re in the same boat, I’d say one thing about the Sunset plan. The 8′ lengths you buy are not going to be exactly 8′. They are generally about a 1/4″ longer, but most importantly they aren’t all the same. The first bed I built didn’t look nearly as nice and neat as the ones they have pictured. If you want them to look that nice like I did (the perfectionist in me), I’d trim them down to the right length.

      I added more support in the center because it seemed like it needed it after I built the first one without.

      We also kind of based our plan our beds from last year that we loved. They were taller than a lot of the ones I found online and worked really well for us. If you go two 2X6’s high, the true measurement is more like 1.5″ by 5.5″, so your bed would only be 11 inches tall. Ours end up being 16.5″ tall.

      • Kate D.

        THANK YOU for the tips! If I’m seeing your bed correctly in the picture, you didn’t use the extra long posts at the corners, did you? Did you not need the extra stability? Or is/was your garden flat enough not to need that? Our yard is sort of a slope, so we were hoping the posts might help stabilize it if we don’t get it as flat as we should.

        I like the idea of making it taller… Was that mostly helpful so you don’t have to bend over as much?

        One last question – did you go out and buy power tools, use a friend’s or some other way? Our sole power tools are a drill and a weed wacker. I was hoping I could get the lumber place to cut the boards for me, but the idea of power tools is a real thrill. What do I need? Is it a good investment? I want a power saw!!!

        • misterkrista

          You know, our beds we loved so much last year didn’t have posts that went into the ground. I didn’t see the point of adding them because once we filled them there was no way they were going anywhere. Now that you mention that, at our old place there was no slope and there are some places we want to put beds this year that are slightly sloped. I don’t forsee a problem though, because these suckers are HEAVY being built outta 2×6’s.

          Jess is the real expert on this stuff, but I think the biggest benefit of deeper beds is more room for roots. Last year our carrots were a little stubby. I would like to go even taller but we are trying to keep the cost down as we are doing a lot all at once this year.

          Tools are soooooo expensive. Yikes. We did a combination of borrowing and buying. My dad has Alzheimer’s and my mom won’t let him use his power tools anymore, so we have a table saw on extended loan and a few other things. We bought a circular saw and about a billion other little things. Oh boy does it add up. And the more I work with stuff, the more I see the value in buying good quality stuff. Borrow stuff if you can!

Leave a Reply

