Santa! Don’t pass us by!

First and foremost, Happy Solstice to all of you. We’re not really solstice-celebrating people, but I am SO EXCITED about the lengthening days. I got really emotional about solstice this year. I don’t know if it’s because we’re so far north I can practically see Santa’s workshop from my house (in the same way that Ms. Palin can see Russia), or if it’s because I am working full time (which I was not last winter), but this winter seems hella dark. Like, when I walk to the parking lot after work, the moon is up. How is that even possible??? Come back, Sun. I need you and your UV rays. So, happy solstice everybody.

We do celebrate the Christmas around here, though. We even drank this weird JULMUST soda from another country. It’s made with hops and barely, so it takes like alcohol, but it is totally non-alcoholic. (side story: Levi did a project on JUL (pronounced YOOL, apparently, who would have guessed? not me.) for school. He baked like 6 dozen ginger snaps for his school celebration, and let me tell you, those ginger snaps were delicious. We got to sample cookies, he got to learn about another culture, everybody wins.) So We drank the non-alcoholic JULMUST. However, do you know what’s NOT non-alcoholic?

These are the pecan pralines that Martha Stewart I mean Krista made. Secret Ingredient:

Santa’s little helpers have been busy in our kitchen, and we’ve been delivering special little parcels of delicious treats to our friends around town. More about our recent baked goods & candy t-o-m-o-r-r-o-w!!!

14 Comments

Filed under family, food, winter

14 responses to “Santa! Don’t pass us by!

  1. Trinity Stafford

    Hi, what blog platform is this? Can I download it for free or..? I would really appreciate it if you could answer this question! Thanks in advance!

    • jess

      it’s just wordpress. you can download clients for it or use the website.

    • Hi Trinity,
      Wordpress is an open-source blog for websites, Krista and Jess use, like many others, WordPress.com. WordPress.com uses WordPress to let people have blogs for free “yoursite”.wordpress.com
      Try going to WordPress.org, then WordPress.com & you’ll see the difference.
      Cheers!
      Kyle Lewis
      Merry Christmas!

  2. ooo you’re gonna have some happy friends with those kinds of special ingredients in your treats! enjoy and i also am ready for the sun to come back! :)

  3. ThuNdeR

    hey, you’ve made me courious about that JULMUST :)
    Oh, I;m not that much into the “sun”, I preffer the cold, but still… here’s to longer days :)
    Merry Christmas!

  4. pandabox33

    The pecan pralines look delicious !

  5. Those cookies look delicious wish I was in that town now.lol Happy holidays to you.

  6. jankliciouz

    The pecan pralines look so delicious! =)
    Merry Xmas!

  7. Jess, I agree with everyone not to be standard, but we could all try those pecan treats! Looks like your Christmas was happy! If not, you made it that way! I will have to see if I can locate me so Yule drink! Merry Christmas and Thanks for sharing! Mona

  8. Looks like you’re into some great cooking ideas. If you’d like more visit my web-site/blog as listed here. I think you’ll find it interesting and fun.

Leave a Reply

