27!

oh my goodness, I turned 27 yesterday. Krista is so full of surprises, she surprised me with birthday cupcakes from Cupcake Royale in Seattle. We were up in Seattle for the City Chickens Coop Tour, put on by Seattle Tilth. We had such a lovely day, touring backyard chicken coops, eating at Araya’s and picking up our cupcakes. I hope I remember to write about the coop tour very soon, because it was great.

This is a salted caramel cupcake dressed up for my birthday. Salted Caramel!

This is a strawberry cupcake made with 66% local ingredients. i wanted to lick the wrapper. Locavore cupcake! These small strawberry cakes are only available this month. Run, don’t walk to your nearest Cupcake Royale. They have locations all over Seattle. I understand that for some of you, this may involve a vacation to Seattle, but I don’t think you’ll mind.

I already felt so spoiled by Saturday’s activities, so imagine my surprise when Krista woke me up on Sunday with presents, a freshly scrubbed house, and some of my favorite people who came down from Seattle for the vegan brunch Krista was cooking up. We ate chocolate beer waffles, field roast sausages, individual hash browns (made in muffin tins! like hash brown muffins!) and fruit salad featuring rainier cherries. We ate ourselves into a brunch food coma, courtesy of the new VEGAN BRUNCH cookbook that Isa Chandra Moskowitz wrote.

Also, we drank mimosas because, hello? have you met us? we drink mimosas to celebrate everything.

Now that I’ve officially entered my late twenties, we’re going to go have some prune juice for breakfast and see what’s at the antique mall this week.

Today’s our one year anniversary, can you believe it? I want to buy Krista a meyer lemon tree for our anniversary, but I’m having a hell of a time finding a place around Olympia that has one for me. More about our anniversary later. It deserves it’s own post! So, to recap, here are some things I need to write about:
1. the chicken coop tour
2. our backyard jungle i mean garden
3. our anniversary
4. our house hunting

Here’s hoping I can hold myself to this high standard of blogging!

1 Comment

Filed under family, marriage, summer

One response to “27!

  1. andrea

    this just reminded me i’m THAT much closer to 28. wow. that might as well be 30.

Leave a Reply

