Jar Lunch: PB & J

The Jar Lunch: It’s like a bag lunch or a bento lunch, but the next big thing is lunch packed in a good ol’ mason jar. I have to microwave my lunch at work, so metal containers won’t work and heating up plastic has me worried. We often simply fill mason jars with leftovers, but sometimes it is fun to come up with a clever jar lunch and make a big batch. Lunch for the whole family is already packed.

Instead of the standby lunch sandwich, how about a peanut butter and jelly yogurt parfait? If you are skeptical about peanut butter in yogurt, I understand. I’ve tried it before to not-so-great results. This lunch was inspired by Levi, who taught me that peanut butter and jam yogurt really works. We eat plain yogurt with homemade jam just about every single day, and he decided to add some peanut butter. I went with his discovery and just added fruit.

Peanut Butter & Jelly Yogurt Parfait

Ingredients per lunch:
3/4 cup fresh fruit (sliced strawberries, blackberries, blueberries)
1 tablespoon jam
one cup plain yogurt
1 heaping tablespoon creamy peanut butter
1 teaspoon sweetener (sugar, cane syrup, agave, honey)

Directions:
In one bowl, combine fruit and jam until evenly coated. In another bowl, whisk together yogurt, peanut butter, and sweetener. Layer fruit and yogurt into pint-sized mason jars.

All that is missing here is a sprinkling of granola.

Next time I’m going to have to try Elvis-style, with bananas and honey.

Please add your photos to the Jar Lunch Flickr pool for this or any other jar lunches you make!

See our other Jar Lunches here.

8 Comments

Filed under food

8 responses to “Jar Lunch: PB & J

  1. I never thought of combining peanut butter and yogurt — now I have to try it!

  2. wonderful! I’ve never combined peanut butter and yoghurt either but it sounds as though it might be rather nice.

  3. Lokyra Stone

    Every time I see your jar lunch posts, I think, “I really need to start doing that, give it a try.” Still haven’t yet. But now I think I must.

  4. Haley P

    AWESOME recipe!!!! I was scraping the jar to get the last drop. Dessert for lunch …..

  5. Middle of the Kitchen

    So creative! will be one of my new snacks!

    Oh, and your header image is absolutely PERFECT.

  6. This is brilliant!!! I love peanut butter and this is a great way to have it with fruit. I need to try this ASAP.

Leave a Reply

