Baby Chicks: Day 11

As certainly as the sun rises, baby chicks grow out of their fluff in an instant. It seems like every time I turn around, they are sprouting new feathers. These photos are from their Day 11 photo shoot.


Ponyboy


Goldie!


Sodapop


Two-Bit

Salmon Faverolles pullets and cockerels are supposed to look different by the time they’re two weeks old. We’re having a hard time making sense of the ‘sexing’ of salmon faverolles. I can’t tell you how much time I’ve spent wondering What is a “black feather”? and what exactly does a “salmon feather” look like? This is where life experience is better than google results. However, I think we have 2 hens and 2 roosters. Two-Bit and Ponyboy look very much alike, while Goldie and Sodapop’s feathers are the same. I just couldn’t tell you which two are which. This alleviates a lot of my “What if we hatch four roosters???” nightmares. I’m no expert though; I could be wrong about this rooster/hen ratio. Any salmon favs experts reading?

5 Comments

Filed under chickens

5 responses to “Baby Chicks: Day 11

  1. This is so great. . .and the names! The names are spectacular.

  2. I needed chick therapy – thanks for sharing – ahh so cute:) Have a Great Day!

  3. liza jane

    Just wanted you to know how much I enjoy the blog and the news of the chicks. I was a bit bummed today about stuff in the news (I won’t get too political) and so I watched the live brooder cam for a few minutes to decompress and de-stress. I grew up with a grandma who raised chickens for eggs and food (shh…. don’t tell them that!) and entertainment and this takes me back. Thanks!!

  4. I love the picture of Goldie!

  5. I miss the chickens and all of the jar lunches! Come back!

Leave a Reply

