Monday Meal Planning

As a follow up to my post about meal planning with Pinterest, I thought I would occasionally share our weekly dinner schedule. Using a little bit of Pinterest, some old favorites, and including less complicated dinners to throw together (this week: tacos), meal planning is really getting easier.

This is what’s on the menu this week:

Click here to view the full PDF.


MONDAY: shahi paneer & peas

TUESDAY: kale, cannelinni, & veggie sausage soup (adapting a Rachael Ray recipe so we can use up an abundance of kale from the garden)


WEDNESDAY: tempeh tacos (corn tortillas, tempeh, shredded cabbage & carrot, mole, crema – or maybe avocado and pico)


(Photo via Serious Eats)
THURSDAY: lentil coconut soup with a side of sliced mango


FRIDAY: kale, onion, & cheddar frittata with smoothies (perhaps our own recipe for avocado banana smoothies)


SATURDAY: BBQ tofu sandwiches with caramelized onion & cabbage with a side of carrot sticks

SUNDAY: date night dinner out!

Click here to borrow our dinner schedule template.

Comment and share what’s on your menu this week!

16 Comments

Filed under family, food

16 responses to “Monday Meal Planning

  1. Good luck with the meal planning:) My sister tried something similar, and she lost a good amount of weight:) Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

  2. Laura

    Would you be willing to share your Pinterest name so I/we can follow you?

    Tonight we’re having pasta with butternut squash sauce out of the freezer. Tuesday and Wednesday will be quinoa chili, Thursday and Friday are crustless greens quiche, and Saturday we’ll probably go out. On one hand, I wish we didn’t always end up with so many leftovers. On the other, it means I only have to plan and cook 2-3 meals a week, which is nice in this season of life.

  3. Looks like you have a big following! So glad you are promoting healthy eating to families – my interest too :)

    • misterkrista

      Well, we wouldn’t mind a big following but our recent sushi in a jar post was “Freshly Pressed” by WordPress so a lot of folks stopped by. We love to eat healthy with an occasional sweet.

  4. I love that you share pictures with the meal planning:) Thanks for sharing!

  5. Rather than a specific schedule of meals (our life — me, husband, kids 8, 11, and 13 — never EVER seems to allow that level of regimentation!) I make a list of 15 or so dinner ideas with sides and plan the grocery list accordingly, emphasis on canned beans, pasta, frozen veggies, and the less-fragile veggies that have a longer fridge life. If I get a wild hair to make something fresh and lovely I will run down to the grocery for a spare ingredient.

    I took some inspiration from you for my lunch today — caramelized onion and poached egg over little crispy fried polenta fritters (rather than grits, as my kids ate up the grits scrounging dinner on Saturday) with a little green salad. It was lovely!

    • We’ve actually been doing something kind of like this – I have a list on the fridge of Meals We Have Stuff For and Meals We Have in the Freezer (plus a few other categories) so that if I don’t have anything planned, I can see what options we have.

      • misterkrista

        Also that lunch sounds awesome! That must have been the grits I made during the $5/day project. I was just making a page for that project and thinking I need to make those again.

    • misterkrista

      This is what we did most recently, although more like a list of 5-10 meals and worked through them. I’m trying to be more committed to actually making the more time consuming meals even if I’ve had a long day at work. So we do this scheduled version some weeks and other weeks I plan more like 3 or 4 meals. When I plan the whole week we manage to eat out less, though!

  6. We do this every Sunday. Sometimes trying to get some prepping done on the weekend too. I try to plan meals with similar ingredients then I get to use things up. Thanks for sharing this, Pininterest sounds very useful! I’ve been looking for something like that to organize all the recipes that I have.

  7. J’adore!! So very awesome! I totally dig this blog, thank you for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

